Tasty Tuesdays: Ritual Recipe – Mini Breakfast Frittatas

Welcome back! I am happy to share another delicious and healthy recipe with you. Before we start, let me declare my love for breakfast. It is my favorite meal of the day (I guess that makes sense being that I am a morning person). With breakfast, there are so many food options. Sweet or savory, hot or cold, anything goes. I am on Day 44 of my Whole90 adventure and recently discovered these mini frittatas. They are super yummy and the protein and vegetables in each little one will keep you going until lunch. After I made these for the first time, I realized all the many options. You can use any kind of meat though I’m partial to breakfast sausage. And then throw in any other veggies you have on hand and season a million different ways. Cook these babies up on Sunday and you have breakfast ready for the week. These can be eaten cold or at room temperature but I prefer to heat them up in the microwave. I usually have 2 or 3 frittatas and a piece of fruit for a quick, easy and healthy breakfast.

Brown up your meat, add onions and mushroom and then the broccoli slaw

Brown up your meat, add onions and mushroom and then the broccoli slaw

Whisk the eggs - look, I think one of my eggs was a twin!

Whisk the eggs – look, I think one of my eggs was a twin!

Fill each cup with the meat and veggie filling

Fill each cup with the meat and veggie filling

Pour in the eggs

Pour in the eggs

Bake and enjoy

Bake and enjoy

My son saw me making these and he thinks anything with a cupcake liner means birthday cake. So, we refer to these frittatas as cupcakes. It makes me so happy when he asks for cupcakes for breakfast. Look at how happy he is eating them.

Ready, set, yum!

Ready, set, yum!

Mini Breakfast Frittatas
Makes 24
Ingredients:
1 pound breakfast sausage
1 small onion, diced
1 package mushrooms (8 oz), diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
Salt
Pepper
1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
1 bag broccoli slaw
12 eggs
¼ cup coconut milk

Preheat oven to 375˚. Line two 12 count muffin tins with silicone baking cups. If you don’t have the silicone cups, you can use paper liners sprayed with Pam or coconut oil. Brown meat until no longer pink, drain. Add the onions, mushrooms and garlic and cook down for a few minutes. Season to taste with salt, pepper and Italian seasoning. Add the broccoli slaw and cook until soft, about 7-8 minutes. In a bowl, whisk the eggs and coconut milk and transfer to a large Pyrex measuring cup. Fill each muffin cup with the meat and vegetable mixture filling about 2/3 full. Carefully pour the egg mixture over the filling leaving some space at the top for the frittatas to puff up. Bake for 15 minutes, rotate pans and cook for another 6 minutes. Cool on a wire rack before storing in the refrigerator.

You can also eat these for lunch, dinner or pop one for a quick snack. Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

