A Fast Beauty Fix and Reflections on My Beauty “Personality”

It’s funny how my beauty “personality” has changed over the years. What is a beauty personality? It is simply how we view and respond towards our appearance. There are some who go for the natural look with little to no makeup and others that wear a full face of makeup every day. Some women focus on their hair more than their face and there are people like me who are more concerned with skin care than cosmetics. I have noticed that some parts of my beauty personality has changed as I’ve gotten older. Specifically, I’m talking about nails. When I was young I wanted the long, painted nails my Mom had. She had the longest real nails I knew. And they were as hard as nails (sorry, had to do it!). Not at all like mine which were much softer. I’d try to grow them out and just when I thought they were getting to the right length, I’d pick something up and wind up with a broken nail.

My life is just too crazy to be worried about a broken nail or chipped polish. Nowadays, shorter is better for me. I always know when it’s time to trim them when I start making a lot of typing errors. That’s my indicator. Oh, and I rarely paint them, but I’m trying to get better about that. After all, I believe that pretty polished tips truly makes a women look pulled together.

As I was typing away this afternoon I noticed it. I had to use the backspace key way too much. It’s time for a mani. And I didn’t have time to stop at a nail shop and get one (though I wish I did). So tonight, after the kids were put to bed, I raced to my bathroom to do a speedy mani. Trim, push back cuticles, buff, polish and done! I have embraced the fact that they don’t have to be perfect. Note that neutral polishes are much more forgiving than bold colors which is probably why the majority of my nail polishes are some variation of a pinky-nude.

All you need for a quick manicure

All you need for a quick manicure

I really do need to polish my nails more often. I always love the way they look.

Fast manicure

I love a pretty neutral – Revlon Blushed


Have you noticed a change in your beauty personality?

2 responses to “A Fast Beauty Fix and Reflections on My Beauty “Personality”

  1. that color is so beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

