Tasty Tuesdays: Ritual Recipe – Chicken & Spinach Mediterranean Salad

As I mentioned last week, starting today, I am going to start posting a healthy recipe once a month. Simple and delicious food chock full of vitamins, antioxidants and healthy fats to help you look and feel your best from the inside out.

After I had my children, I found it fairly difficult to get back into shape. I had gotten lazy in my eating and exercising so it was no surprise that I wasn’t able to spring back into my pre-preganacy size. No matter what anyone tells you, it takes effort to be your best physically. Over the years, I have learned that I have to plan out my meals for the week otherwise I will grab whatever is fastest (pizza rules) and regret it later. I also have to plan my workouts. But we are just going to stick to talking about food today.

In January, I did my first Whole30 program and at the time, I had only heard of it a few times. The Whole30 program is simply eating real food: meat, fish, eggs, vegetables, fruits and good fats from nuts and seeds. You eliminate all grains (including corn), dairy, white potatoes, sugar, legumes, soy, and alcohol. I made the Whole30 a last minute New Year’s Resolution and jumped right in on January 1st. It really was not that difficult as long as I had my meals prepared in advance. And at the end of 30 days, I felt great and had dropped 7 pounds without really doing much more than 1 or 2 days a week of exercise.

I have decided to do another Whole30 because my sweet tooth has gotten out of control lately. But this time I am extending it to 90 days for a couple of reasons. First, I think if I go longer without sugar, it will help curb my sweet tooth and second, my 20th high school reunion is in the Fall and it would be nice to attend it being a little lighter (and will give me a good excuse to go dress shopping).

Some of the recipes posted will be geared towards the Whole30 program but do not worry, they will still be delicious. Most recipes will be clean eating though there may be a something sweet from time to time. You’ve got to live a little.

Chicken & Spinach Mediterranean Salad
This is a salad I made up on a visit to Uncle Madio’s one day. I really like Uncle Madio’s as it’s the only fast food place I know of that has so many fresh vegetables and organic chicken available. Since I could not find a salad on the menu that met the Whole30 requirements, I decided to make my own. I have since made this salad at home. It is really easy and I usually have all the ingredients on hand.

Ingredients

Can you tell I like Trader Joe’s?

As I said before, I plan my meals for the week. Sunday is usually my cooking day and I will cook up a bunch of chicken breasts in the oven to have on hand. I prefer to have the chicken warm on the salad so during the week, I’ll take a chicken breast out of the fridge and heat it up in the microwave, dice it up and add to the salad. But you could also have the chicken cold.

My Sunday batch of chicken

My Sunday batch of chicken

Ingredients:
Spinach – couple handfuls
1 cooked chicken breast, diced
¼ cup Artichoke hearts, diced
1 Tbsp Sliced black olives
¼ cup Portabello mushrooms, sliced and marinated
1 Tbsp Sundried tomatoes

Place spinach in a bowl. I have a thing for chopped salads so I always chop up salad greens. And then I simply add all ingredients over the spinach. The chicken can be hot or cold. Drizzle olive oil and red wine vinegar on top for the dressing and season with salt and pepper to your liking.

This is a great lunch salad, filling and delicious. Enjoy!

So easy and delicious!

So easy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

