Summertime Scentsations

2013-06-22

It is hard to believe that the 4th of July has come and gone.  But there is still a lot of summer left and plenty of time to try out a lighter fragrance.  For me, there is no such thing as owning too many perfumes.  I used to wear a different fragrance every day of the week depending on my mood.  For a while now, I have stuck to just one fragrance as my signature (Hermès’ 24, Faubourg).  And even though it is my all-time favorite, it is a little too heavy for the summer which is why I have started sampling some new scents.  I have found three scents that I really like that are perfect for summer.

Chloé Eau de Parfum – I’ve had my eye, and nose, on this one for a while now.  Sephora was running a special promotion so I got a deluxe sample of this scent with an online order.  The fashion house’s newly signature scent starts off with fresh top notes of pink peony, freesia, and lychee.  While the middle notes reveal a heavenly floral blend of magnolia, lily of the valley and rose (rose is the dominant note).  Cedarwood, amber and honey are the base notes that round out this elegant scent.  The result is an ultra feminine fragrance that can easily be worn every day.  In addition to the full size bottle, Chloé is also available in a rollerball at Sephora for just $25.

Oscar de la Renta’s Something Blue – I received a sample of this fragrance in my last Birchbox and I have been wearing it every day.  This light and fresh fragrance has top notes of Italian bergamot, mandarin, neroli and linden blossom.  As the scent wears, it unveils notes of narcisse, lily of the valley and lychee.  Towards the end of the day you will discover the warmth from the white musk and bourbon vanilla.  As the name suggests, this fragrance was inspired by the designer’s silk and lace wedding gowns.  So, it is no surprise that they have added a removable engraved ring to the elegantly designed bottle.

L’Occitane Vanille & Narcisse Eau de Toilette – I literally stumbled across this fragrance.  As I was passing the store in the mall, this little bottle called out to me when I saw “Narcisse” on the label.  Besides my birth flower (a.k.a. the daffodil), one of my favorite fragrances in high school was Chloé’s Narcisse.  This fragrance is nothing like that one.  It’s a floral but it’s subtle.  The vanilla balances out the sweetness of the floral and gives it some warmth yet it’s still light for summer.  Besides smelling yummy, it is one of the few fragrances that did not make my highly allergic husband sneeze or cause a headache.  Win!

What fragrance are you wearing this summer?

Leave a Reply

