Color (of the year) Me Impressed

While I do love all things beauty, skin care and makeup are what I tend to focus on.  My entire life, with the exception of one shaggy Jane Fonda hair cut when I was 3, I have had very long hair.  I love long hair.  Wear it up, down, curl it, braid it, etc.  There are so many options.  But honestly, I don’t do much with my hair because I don’t like spending lots of time on it.  The same can be said for nails.  I do think it’s important to take care of your nails but I rarely polish them (even though I have a ton of nail polishes).  For me, it’s the drying time.  It’s not often that I know I have time to apply a base coat, 2 coats of polish and top coat AND give it sufficient time to dry.  When I was younger and painted my nails more often, I used to do them at night and wake up with the dreaded creases from my sheets.  Bleh.

This year, Sephora has once again teamed up with Pantone to select a color of the year.  For 2013, the color is emerald and what a pretty color it is.  I have been playing around more with bright eyeliners so I had bought a green metallic that is very pretty.  But I thought I should try something in the color of the year.  Brightly colored and embellished nails have been so hot so I thought, why not try the nail polish.  So, I bought it and it sat in my bathroom.  I actually applied it to my daughter’s nails before I found some time to paint my own.

Sephora's color of the year - Emerald

Sephora’s color of the year – Emerald

Both kids were down for their nap and I raced to the bathroom and started painting away with the hopes that they would be fairly dry before naptime was over. The color is very pretty and though a little shocking for me, I really liked it.  I am usually a traditionalist when it comes to nails opting for nude or red, and leave wild and crazy for the toes.  But what was most unexpected to me about this nail polish was how well it wore.  This photo is 5 days after I first applied the polish.  I am hard on my nails and I can never get 5 days out of a manicure.  And, I didn’t even put a top coat on because I was afraid I was pushing my luck with getting 3 coats to dry.

This is day 5 of my manicure and the polish still looks great

This is day 5 of my manicure and the polish still looks great

This is the first time I’ve tried a Sephora nail polish and with how well it last, I will definitely be trying out more colors.

Fancy packaging just for this little bottle of nail polish

Fancy packaging just for this little bottle of nail polish

Leave a Reply

