Daily Sunscreen Product Review

In honor of Melanoma/Skin Cancer Detection and Prevention month, I thought I would do a product review on a daily facial sunscreen.  Even though I had heard the importance of wearing a daily sunscreen for years, it wasn’t until I was 25 that I made a commitment to wearing it every day.  And shortly after that, I noticed a nice change in my skin.  I know it sounds corny but my skin seemed to be happy.  And then I was mad at myself for not starting sooner.  The hint of tan lines from my sunglasses disappeared.   Yes, I would get lines on the bridge of my nose and along my temples from sunglasses.  I am half Filipino so it literally only takes a few minutes in the sun before color starts to develop.  Besides my skin tone improving, I even noticed that breakouts were greatly reduced.  So, with all these great benefits, I was hooked. When it comes to a daily facial sunscreen, I have certain criteria that must be met.

  1.  It has to be SPF 30 or higher.
  2. The formula must be lightweight and not greasy because makeup will be going over it.
  3. No sunscreen smell.

I recently picked up a bottle of Eurecin Daily Protection Moisturizing Face Lotion with SPF 30 at Ulta.  I was actually looking for a different product that I sampled from my dermatologist but the product was out of stock.  So, I started looking at every moisturizer and the sunscreen ingredients.  After having children, I noticed my skin has become very sensitive to certain sunscreen ingredients.  I think I’ve narrowed it down to avobenzone which is too bad because besides being a great UVA blocker, it is in a lot of products which means there are a lot of products I can’t use. 2013-05-28 16.01.56 Even though it is a lightweight lotion, it is very moisturizing which I don’t really need.  It’s great while I’m inside, but I’m afraid it may be too heavy if I were to be outside all day. We are just starting to get the summer heat so I’m interested to see how it holds up in the Georgia humidity. 2013-05-28 15.59.10 The Eurecin lotion contains a blend of both chemical and physical sunblockers.  The physical sunscreens are titanium dioxide and zinc oxide which block both UVA and UVB rays.  This product is formulated nicely as it leaves no trace of white on your skin as physical sunscreens usually do.  And the chemical sunscreens are ensulizole, octinoxate, and octisalate which all absorb UVB rays.  I have to say this is the first time I have used a product with ensulizole.  After doing a little research, I found that ensulizole absorbs UVB rays and only short UVA rays.  Because this product was formulated with both chemical and physical sunscreens, it effectively protects against UVA and UVB rays and can claim to be a broad spectrum sunscreen. 2013-05-25 14.18.13 I will say it does have a slight sunscreen smell.  But it is not too heavy as to make me think that I should be at the pool when I’m sitting at my desk. Overall, I’m pleased to have found a daily sunscreen that my skin will tolerate.  But I am still going to look for a product that works better with oilier skin.  I will also be looking for a daily body sunscreen and noticed on the back of the Eurecin bottle that they also make a daily body lotion with SPF 15.  I will definitely be picking that up. 2013-05-25 14.19.01

Leave a Reply

