Rituals – past & present

When I was in my early twenties, Sundays were my beauty day.  I wasn’t making very much money so it was a DIY spa day in my tiny bathroom.  A bubble bath, clarifying shampoo and deep conditioner followed by a mini facial and a mani-pedi and I was ready to start the week.  Oh, how I think back to those days and how much time I used to have.

My beauty ritual started long before my NYC days.  I was about 7 or 8 when I first started playing around with different soaps.  Dove, Ivory, Noxzema followed by a cotton ball of Sea Breeze or Bonnie Bell’s Ten-O –Six.  It burned, so it must be doing something good, I thought.  As I got older, my ritual evolved.  The world of cosmetics opened up.  Now, I had been playing around with my Mom’s lipsticks and eye shadows for a long time, but by the time my friends and I hit 4th grade, we knew it was time to break out the make-up at school.  Unfortunately, our teacher did not agree with us.  With our moms siding with the teacher, we left our lipsticks at home for the time being.

When I was in sixth grade, we started having dances.  Again, I had so many things to do to prepare for the big event.  A bubble bath, hair washed, dried and curled; make-up and a mani-pedi.  Mind you, no one saw my toes.  You would have thought I was getting ready for the Oscars but all I wore was a shiny Espirt top and a jean skirt.

Today, my ritual has been pared down from years past.  But when I have the chance, usually when the children are napping or down for the night, I will resurrect some of my old rituals.  The deep conditioner, a mask or doing my nails (I usually have to pick one).  Tonight, as I was doing my nails, it occurred to me that my manicure set is almost 27 years old.  It was a gift from my Mom, ahem, Santa, when I was in the 5th grade.  That set has been with my through high school and college, followed me to NYC and a number of different homes.  Once I took it on a trip with me post 9/11 and airport security tried to confiscate it for the scissors and nail file.  My options were to check the bag or throw it away.  Obviously, I checked the bag.

Even though my ritual isn’t as complicated as it used to be, I still get all the bases covered.  You don’t need a lot of time to take good care of your skin.  No matter how tired I am, I cannot go to bed without following my ritual.  It’s how I start and end my day and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

My old faithful manicure set

Leave a Reply

